top of page

French Macaron Troubleshooting

Let me tell you a short story of how I have hopelessly and defencelessly fell in love with the French Macaron..

Before studying pastry and bakery here in Singapore, I have always been fascinated with this mysterious confection. Let's just say, I have a thing for cookies. The classic chocolate chip always has and will have a special place in my sugar-coated heart. And so I considered the macaron as a "fancier" and "for-special-treat" type of confection. Almonds are now considered on the pricier side compared to regular flours. But the the curious food wanderer in me, of course, wanted to see for myself what really the sugary fuss is about. The science behind the macaron is as complex as human genetics. A slight tweak here and there can make the biggest difference in your finished product. And so, after months of delving into this beautiful craft, macaroning, today, I can say with all confidence, from the bottom of my heart, I love you, my sweet sweet, macaron. I really do.

When we had our french macaron class at pastry school, oh boy let me tell you, was it one of my favourite days of my life. The very next day, I went to TOTT Singapore and went ahead with my eyes closed, bought my very first Kitchenaid (Heavy Duty) with solely producing the best macaron in the whole entire universe in mind. The satisfaction of a perfect macaron batch is as close to nirvana. Like biting into the perfect chocolate bar and hearing angels sing.

And so, to make your human busy lives easier than my confection perfection obsessed life, I share you this troubleshooting tips and tricks that will save your valuable life!

Don't forget to check out my previous post for my recipe!

Watch this compilation of failed attempts and why it happened that caused sleepless nights. This is just scratching the surface! I had countless trials that ended up in the confection grave. Sad, sad times..

ENJOY!

Cracked

  • top oven heat is too strong

  • oven temperature is too high

  • under mixing batter / meringue

  • not aged egg whites

Flat

  • over mixed meringue / batter

  • batter will be too runny

Lumpy

  • under mixed batter

  • pan not tapped

  • air bubbles not popped with toothpick

  • almond meal too coarse

Not round / odd shape

  • even / warped pan

  • piping technique

  • reusing parchment

No "feet"

  • humidity

  • macarons not rested after piping

  • under mixed batter

  • macarons will be sticky

Uneven / bursting "feet"

  • bottom heat too strong

  • uneven / warped pan

  • too high oven temperature

  • "hot spots" in the oven

Thin / hollow shells

  • under mixed meringue / batter

  • over mixed meringue

  • batter will be too thick to pipe

Browning

  • oven temperature too high

  • "hot spots" in the oven

Start your macaroning!

Hungry and hungry,

Rosey

SEARCH BY TAGS
No tags yet.
ARCHIVE
bottom of page